welding tips vs sanity Part 2

455 is the magic number of welding tips that has since inspired me to write again. At least for now there are no other orders of more welding tips in sight. Thank goodness for a holiday work week! I know no matter what one does for a living, there are good days and bad, but after the last couple of weeks I feel myself on shaky ground. Last week did turn out to be a little better than I thought. Although there was a few issues on some parts I had made previously, my productivity sheet numbers well still very acceptable for the week. This week started out a little better thanks to easier parts that I have made a few times before.

Today, after the holiday weekend, I finished the first 455, had a couple small different orders then guess what happened. An order of 20 of one type of welding tip, and wait for it, another order of 455. Yes the manufacturing industry, as a whole, like to daily prove that the more you can repeat something and get the same result the better you are.  A guy I worked with once said it best when he said that jobs like this were like being in a primate center. They make you feel like a monkey could do it. On simple jobs, maybe, but thankfully for those of us in the industry most jobs are more complicated than that. They usually require more than could be taught to a monkey or machine. But when you have to do the mind-numbing jobs such as these you just say to yourself “welcome to the primate center” and make them as best you can and try to keep what may, or may not be, left of your sanity.

Most would say that routine is a good thing. I would tend to agree. It’s just sometimes routine can be mind-numbing. Routine things such as breathing, your heart beating, and digesting of food is good making hundreds, if not thousands, of welding tips is a totally different story. Don’t get me wrong, I am very thankful to have the job I do and it’s the best job for me since getting out of the Army. Jobs like welding tips are best described like being in the shower for 4-12 hrs. Lather, rinse, repeat is very similar to load machine, push button, retrieve and de-burr parts, repeat. Such there is more to it than that, but there is more to a shower than rinse, lather, and repeat.

A few quotes I found at http://www.quotationspage.com/subjects/sanity/

Correct me if I’m wrong, but hasn’t the fine line between sanity and madness gotten finer?George Price

Truly great madness cannot be achieved without significant intelligence. Henrik Tikkanen

When dealing with the insane, the best method is to pretend to be sane. Hermann Hesse (1877 – 1962)

Part of being sane, is being a little bit crazy. Janet Long

Sanity calms, but madness is more interesting. John Russell

I think that maybe in every company today there is always at least one person who is going crazy slowly. Joseph Heller (1923 – 1999)

 

Till next time, Joe

Thanks for adding your thoughts to this topic

